The Church Year

Since the early centuries of the Church, congregations have followed what has been called a “liturgical calendar,” known alternatively as the “Church Year.” The Church – the body of Christ – has developed a way of reminding itself of the life of Christ and the Church’s beginnings by following a pattern which repeats itself year after year.

The liturgical year begins with Advent, followed by Christmas, Epiphany, Ordinary Time, Lent, Easter, Pentecost, and then ends with another season of Ordinary Time, to begin anew with Advent.

Liturgical Calendar

One Reply to “The Church Year”

Comments are closed.